Top Ten Books of 2013

Well, this post is long overdue.  However, coming up with my top 10 favorite books of the year was a hard task.  I read 35 books this year which was over my goal of 30; for many, this is not much, but I am a fulltime college student with a job and involvement in many extracurricular organizations.  Time is precious to me!  Here’s the list of my top 10 favorite books of this year in order (10 being the lowest and 1 being the highest)!

10.  One Child by Torey Hayden

Image

I was required to read this book for my special education course while in college, and I absolutely loved it.  It reaffirmed my desire to be a teacher so I could impact students similar to the way Torey impacted little Sheila’s life.  I highly recommend this book for anyone going into education or child care.  Our jobs aren’t easy, but our impacts are tremendous!

9.  All Over Creation by Ruth Ozeki

Image

I was required to read this book for my American Literature since 1945 course, and I also loved it!  Ozekie beautifully pieces together the story of the love, determination, and companionship.  Her imagery is absolutely beautiful and enhances her prose.

8.  The Odyssey by Homer

Image

This is by far one of my favorite classics.  Naturally, I love Greek and Roman mythology so seeing Zeus, Poseidon, and Athena in this story was great.  The themes and characters were excellent, and this story truly withstands the test of time in my opinion.

7.  Sea by Heidi R. Kling

Image

I’m not the world’s biggest contemporary romance fan.  It takes a lot for me to believe the honesty of 90% of all Young Adult Contemporary Romances.  The romance in this book was so realistic.  Plus it takes place in Indonesia after the tsunami, and the main character is doing cleanup work.  AHH, finally!   A YA protagonist who thinks beyond herself.  This is a must read for all because its themes beyond the romance are pertinent to all our lives.  My review can be seen here.

6.  Too Fast by Alexia Haynes

Image

I received this book as an ARC and did not expect to love it as much as I did.  Additionally, this was my first New Adult book, and it had my swooning.  I loved the characters; they were flawed but perfect at the same time.  I really hope Alexia writes more in 2014 because I will read ANYTHING she writes.  My review can be seen here.

5.  The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks

Image

This is one of my favorite Nicholas Sparks’s novels.  Typically, I am heartbroken by his endings, but this novel ended perfectly that I could be nothing but happy.  The characters are fantastic (Logan is AMAZING) and watching the development of the main characters’ relationship and them confronting their fears was so heartwarming.  My review can be seen here.

4.  The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Image

I am extremely late to reading this novel.  I tend to hold out on many “popular books” because they always tend to disappoint me.  However, this book is far from disappointing.  I loved Charlie and was easy to relate to him.  At some point in our lives, we have all been wallflowers, and this story enabled me to accept and appreciate my introverted-ness.  My review can be seen here.

3.  The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Image

Do I need to elaborate?  This book is beautiful, and all of us book-lovers are all like Liesel.  My review can be seen here.

2.  A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare

Image

I took a Shakespeare course this past semester, and we were exposed to a variety of his work.  However, this is my favorite.  I loved Bottom and Puck!  The ending was hysterical, and I loved the last monologue at the end of the play.  I really want to see this performed because I LOVED it!

1.   Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

Image

Who would have thought that a YA Contemporary Romance would be my favorite book of this year?  I loved Brittany and Alex.  Even though this story is a stereotypical “star-crossed lovers” story, it was very authentic and original.  Beyond their romance, Brittany and Alex learned to confront and deal with their problems.  I look forward to continuing this series this year because I LOVED IT SO MUCH!

And there you have it!  My top 10 favorite books that I read in 2013.  I will be doing my top 5 disappointing reads in 2013 later.  My top ten books post will see you next year!!

What were some of your favorite books of 2013?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books of 2013

Leave a Reply

