Friday Reads (7/19/13)

It feels good to be back and Happy Friday!  Friday Reads is a query that started on Twitter and has become increasingly popular in the book blogging/vlogging community, and I have decided to implement it in my Daily Post.  To learn more about it, click here.

Image

New York Times bestseller for seven years running that’s coming to movie theaters on November 15, 2013, this Printz Honor book by the author of I Am the Messenger is an unforgettable tale about the ability of books to feed the soul.

Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau. 

The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.-Goodreads summary

As someone who is a ravenous fan of historical fiction, especially novels dealing with WWII, I am utterly ashamed that it has taken me so long to read this book.  It has been sitting on my shelf for four years and has been frequently recommended by family and peers.  Finally, I have decided to read it.  Currently, I am 300 pages in the book, which means I’ve finished a little over 50%, and I am truly loving it.  Admittedly, I am not one who wholeheartedly agrees with book hypes, but this book deserves it.  The characters, the plot, and the narration all possess unique attributes and depth, which are incomparable to any historical fiction.  I look forward to finishing this book as I find it to be a fast read, but I will be terribly sad to see the story end.  Of course, that implies that I will be rereading this book countless times in the future!

Image

She spots the masked man in the dark, lonely parking lot–but too late. Grabbed and drugged, Christina is kidnapped and held for ransom. When her family pays, she thinks her ordeal is over. But then she realizes that her family thinks she planned the kidnapping! How will Christina prove her innocence?-Goodreads summary

Do you ever get in these moods where you need to read a good mystery?  At a young age, I devoured Nancy Drew books and would only read mystery books.  As I have gotten older, my genre preferences have expanded, but mystery novels always hold a soft spot in my heart.  Therefore, I am in need of a mystery.  Browsing my shelf, I found this book and realized it has been sitting on my shelf for many years-probably ten years!  So, it needs to be read!  The premise sounds extremely intriguing, and I definitely like how it was a recipient of the Edgar Award for Best YA Mystery-who doesn’t love Poe?!  This seems like a fairly quick read, and I look forward to satisfying my mystery-craving!

Image

Witnessing a brutal murder at work is only the beginning of Celia’s problems. The fact that the victim is a vampire only proves to complicate her life even more. The vampires of New England have always had an undetected existence among humans but with the unprovoked death of one of their own, the lust for revenge has begun. Celia’s concerns are magnified when a hunter from Dallas arrives in town. With Jay’s sexy smile and rugged ways, Celia finds herself wanting to spend time with him despite being mysteriously linked to the nest that is threatening to become extinct if Jay gets his way. When four bodies are found drained of blood; Jay teams up with a local bunch to take out all the undead which coincidentally, includes her boyfriend Victor. Celia won’t stand seeing anything happen to Victor but refuses to hurt Jay as well. Confusion, lust, rage and violence intertwine as worlds collide. Celia will soon discover that her neat little existence is not what it seems as her cryptic past and present start to unravel.-Goodreads summary

Recently, I received a digital copy of Sweet for review.  As I need to have it read and reviewed in three weeks, I am hoping to get it started now and be ahead of the game!  I enjoy vampire novels because recently many authors are attempting to branch out of the “vampire stereotype,” so I am looking forward to seeing what kind of vampires Wilkerson creates.

*What books do you plan on reading this weekend?*

Happy reading!

Katie

Currently Reading: The Book Thief and am 54% into it.

Find me on Goodreads.

Find me on Tumblr.

6 thoughts on “Friday Reads (7/19/13)

    • I KNOW! Why am I sooo late in reading this?! I just got a digital review copy of Grasping at Eternity. I can’t wait to read it! I hope you like it and look forward to hearing your final thoughts on it! 🙂

      • It doesn’t matter that you’re late in reading it! I only read it earlier this year. Maybe now is the right time to read it 😀
        Yay! Well, I’m liking it at the moment, and if it stays this good, then that will be awesome 🙂 Hopefully I can finish it soon, I have so many books to review!

      • Exactly! Plus, I’m not the biggest fan of reading book’s while they’re insanely popular. I always inevitably end up disappointed.
        I hope it stays good! I also have so many books to review! Hopefully, we can do it! 🙂

      • I hate being disappointed with hyped up books! So maybe it is best that you’re reading it now that it’s not such a huge thing 🙂
        Me, too! I know, I just signed up for ARC August to try and force myself to review some more novels 😀

Leave a Reply

