Worst Read Wednesday: I am Number Four

Welcome to Worst Read Wednesday in which I talk about books that were awful or that I did not enjoy as much as it was/is hyped.  Worst Read Wednesdays are a part of my Daily Post; to learn more about it, click here!

Image

Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you. But we are not you. We can do things you dream of doing. We have powers you dream of having. We are stronger and faster than anything you have ever seen. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books – but we are real.

Our plan was to grow, and train, and become strong, and become one, and fight them. But they found us and started hunting us first. Now all of us are running. Spending our lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in. We have lived among you without you knowing.

But they know.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They killed them all.

I am Number Four.

I am next.-Goodreads summary

From the plot summary, this book has so much potential.  Overall, I’ll admit that the plot and concept is extremely unique and, for the most part, professionally executed.  While I’ll give Lore credit for his creativity, I had numerous issues with this book regardless of its “hype.”

First, the romance was my BIGGEST pet peeve in this book. I believe the romance was totally irrelevant and unnecessary to the plot, and the novel would have been far better without it. My theory is that Lore perhaps wrote the romance to appeal to a female audience, as it was heavily chick-lit-esque.  

Second, the grammar errors were awful in this book. Every couple chapters had at least one mistake.  If I am correct, Pittacus Lore is another surname for Lemony Snicket.  For an author who is well-regarded, I found his mistakes to be extremely amateur.

Third, the chapters ended at extremely awkward places. Normally, chapters end at really suspenseful places so you want to continue reading the next chapter, or they end at the conclusion of some action. Either way, it flows nicely. However, Pittacus Lore really chopped up his novel with randomly adding new chapters in the most random places, which was aggravating and discombobulating.  The way the chapters ended gave the plot an inconsistent feeling, which irritated me as a reader.  Due to this, I was never able to fully immerse myself in the plot.

Lastly, I despised every single character in this novel. The protagonist and his love interest claimed their “undying love” for each other after only three months of dating, mind you they’re only fifteen. Also, the protagonist and his Cepân should have just tattooed “WE ARE ALIENS” to their foreheads because they basically told everyone their dirty little secret-I mean you’re only going to die next if the Mogadorians find you, but it’s whatever. Etc. Etc. Etc.  These characters were irrational and acted against themselves.  There was some serious anti-character development in this book.

Overall, these issues culminated to me not being as impressed with this book as some other readers.  Sadly, it was a majorly disappointing read.

*What book have you hated or did not fall for its hype?  Comment below!*

Happy reading!

Katie

Currently Reading: The End Games and am 50% into it.

Find me on Goodreads.

Find me on Tumblr.

Leave a Reply

