Book Review: The Next Always

It’s Tuesday, so that means it’s time for another book review!  Tuesday Book Reviews are a part of my Daily Post; to learn more about it, click here!

Image

“America’s favorite writer” (The New Yorker) begins an all-new trilogy-inspired by the inn she owns and the town she loves. 

The historic hotel in BoonsBoro, Maryland, has endured war and peace, changing hands, even rumored hauntings. Now it’s getting a major facelift from the Montgomery brothers and their eccentric mother. As the architect of the family, Beckett’s social life consists mostly of talking shop over pizza and beer. But there’s another project he’s got his eye on: the girl he’s been waiting to kiss since he was fifteen…-Goodreads summary

Judge the Book by its Cover:

  • I think this cover is absolutely GORGEOUS!  I like how the image is of the rustic inn.  It allows readers to fully appreciate its beauty beyond Roberts’s wonderful descriptions.  I’d love to stay at this inn!

Things that Made Me Happy:

  • The first sentence in this novel had me hooked.  I know Roberts is a NY Times bestselling author, but I never picked up her books.  My mom bought this book for me as a gift assuming I’d enjoy it since Roberts writes in the same genre as Nicholas Sparks, who I love!  I must say, I’m extremely impressed.  Roberts writes in a poetic manner that is full of beautiful imagery that just makes readers sigh in delight.  Her whimsical writing transforms a “typical romance story” into something utterly honest, unique, and breathtaking.  This is not my last Roberts’s book!
  • I absolutely adored Claire, the protagonist of this story.  Suffering the death of her dear high school sweetheart husband and having to care for her young children, Claire manages to remain strong, fulfill her duties, and achieve her dreams.  Her selfless attitude and charisma is so infectious that I found myself weeping and rejoicing with her.
  • Secondly, I absolutely adored Beckett.   What a hunk!  Besides his good looks, he truly cared about Claire.  Sometimes Contemporary Adult Romances are too forced.  However, Beckett and Claire’s relationship was balanced and flawless.  Also, I found myself swooning when Beckett interacted with Claire’s children and insisted on having “Man Time” with them.  Can he be any more perfect?!
  • All of the other supporting characters were fantastic.  Claire’s friends had a wonderful friendship, and Beckett’s brothers had an endearing bond.  The characters were all incredibly unique and well developed.  In fact the other two books in this series will focus more on the supporting characters of this novel, but we’ll still get to see Claire and Beckett’s relationship blossom!  I definitely anticipate further character development of the other supporting characters.
  • As mentioned, the romance was wonderful.  I sometimes have an issue with Adult Contemporary Romances; at times I can find them to be not well written, too unbelievable, and too focused on the physical aspects of the relationship.  Writing about love is an intense human emotion which needs to be done so intricately.  Roberts was able to delicately build a romance that has her audience swooning.
  • The ending had me in delightful happy tears.  I look forward to finishing this series!

Things that Made Me Unhappy: 

  • Nothing!

My Rating:

★★★★ 5/5 stars!  

Recommendations:

I’d recommend this book to those who enjoy adult fiction, contemporary, romance, and chick-lit novels!

Happy reading!

Katie

Currently Reading: The End Games and am 50% into it.

Find me on Goodreads.

Find me on Tumblr.

Leave a Reply

