Mention Monday: Lockdown-Escape from Furnace

Welcome to Mention Monday in which I discuss a book that I really enjoyed.  Mention Mondays are a part of my Daily Post; to learn more about it, click here!

Image

Furnace Penitentiary: the world’s most secure prison for young offenders, buried a mile beneath the earth’s surface. Convicted of a murder he didn’t commit, sentenced to life without parole, “new fish” Alex Sawyer knows he has two choices: find a way out, or resign himself to a death behind bars, in the darkness at the bottom of the world. Except in Furnace, death is the least of his worries. Soon Alex discovers that the prison is a place of pure evil, where inhuman creatures in gas masks stalk the corridors at night, where giants in black suits drag screaming inmates into the shadows, where deformed beasts can be heard howling from the blood-drenched tunnels below. And behind everything is the mysterious, all-powerful warden, a man as cruel and dangerous as the devil himself, whose unthinkable acts have consequences that stretch far beyond the walls of the prison.

Together with a bunch of inmates—some innocent kids who have been framed, others cold-blooded killers—Alex plans an escape. But as he starts to uncover the truth about Furnace’s deeper, darker purpose, Alex’s actions grow ever more dangerous, and he must risk everything to expose this nightmare that’s hidden from the eyes of the world.-Goodreads summary

I never had a book that gave me nightmares prior to reading Lockdown.  Weeks after reading this book, my mind was plagued by the harsh images Smith portrays in his novel.  While this terrified me, I have to hand it to him for innovating a novel so graphic and gruesome that it seriously haunted and continues to haunt me.

The whole concept of Furnace as a penitentiary for juveniles is mind-boggling.  How can something like this, which heavily relies on torture, be an acceptable form of punishment for the young people of society?  Therefore, Smith encourages his readers think: What are acceptable forms of punishment?  What constitutes crime?  How can crimes justly receive punishment?  What is justice?  etc.  

Since Smith creates this thought-provoking atmosphere, readers find themselves attached to the protagonist as he attempts to answer these and other questions while wishing for an escape.  Despite the fact that the main character is a male, I quickly related to him and felt myself a part of his journey, which explains those horrific nightmares!  With him, I rejoiced and mourned til the end of the novel.  I have yet to read the second book, but I am absolutely dying to read it!

*What are some of your favorite books?  Comment below and you may be featured in next week’s Mention Monday post!*

SIDE NOTE: I apologize for not being able to put up a book review this past Saturday.  My lovely brother had his graduation party, and I was quite consumed with the festivities.  The book review will be up temporarily!  My apologies, lovely readers! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Mention Monday: Lockdown-Escape from Furnace

  1. You may have loved this book but I am NEVER reading it lol. I hate nightmares, absolutely hate them! So no matter how intriguing this book sounds, how well written, I am never reading it! lol. Great review.

Leave a Reply

