Friday Reads

Happy Friday!  Woohoo you successfully got through another week!  Friday Reads enables me to share what I plan on reading this weekend.  As I do not post on Sundays, it allows you to be updated and know what I hope to accomplish in my reading endeavors.  Additionally, Friday Reads is a part of my Daily Post; to learn more about it, click here!

Image

“Still haunted by nightmares of her mother’s death, fifteen-year-old Sienna Jones reluctantly travels to Indonesia with her father’s relief team to help tsunami orphans with their post traumatic stress disorder-something Sienna knows a lot about. Since her mother’s plane went missing over the Indian Ocean three years before, Sienna doesn’t do anything if it involves the ocean or planes, so this trip is a big step forward.

But the last thing she expects is to fall for Deni, a brooding Indonesian boy who lives at the orphanage, and just so happens to be HOT. When Deni hears a rumor that his father may be alive, Sienna doesn’t think twice about running away with him to the epicenter of the disaster. Unfortunately, what they find there could break both their hearts.

A compelling summer romance, Sea marks the arrival of a stunning new voice in YA.” –Goodreads summary

I picked this up from the library a week ago because the summary was extremely compelling.  First, I definitely like how the author implements a “recent” historical event into the story.  I see this as an opportunity for some major character development.  Additionally, I believe it will be thought-provoking to readers as it deals with an extremely difficult tragedy; I slightly am hoping that this will be one of those books that may “change my life!”  Lastly, I am pleased that this author has included some romance in the book.  Having the protagonist dealing with the effects of the tsunami will probably be difficult to read; therefore,the romance will be a nice relief-at least, I hope!

As of now, I have only read the prologue.  I cannot give much of an opinion about the book as I feel it has not had sufficient time to receive any sort of judgments.  However, I look forward to reading this book!  Look for a review in the future!

Image

“In an alternate London where magical creatures are preserved in a museum, two teens find themselves caught in a web of intrigue, deception, and danger.

Vespa Nyx wants nothing more than to spend the rest of her life cataloging Unnatural creatures in her father’s museum, but as she gets older, the requirement to become a lady and find a husband is looming large. Syrus Reed’s Tinker family has always served and revered the Unnaturals from afar, but when his family is captured to be refinery slaves, he finds that his fate may be bound up with Vespa’s—and with the Unnaturals.

As the danger grows, Vespa and Syrus find themselves in a tightening web of deception and intrigue. At stake may be the fate of New London—and the world”-Goodreads summary

l probably won’t finish The Unnaturalists this weekend, but I’m hoping to attempt it.  Again, I got this book from the library and was very intrigued by its summary.  I love historical fiction books, and I love that there will be some Steampunk elements in this novel-I mean look at that cover; it looks so Steampunky!  

Other than the excitement of the plot and cover, I really do not have many expectations for this book.  I just hope its an enjoyable read!  I plan on reviewing this book in the future as well.

*What books do you plan on reading this weekend?  Comment below, and you may be featured in the next Friday Reads!*

5 thoughts on “Friday Reads

Leave a Reply

