Thirsty Thursday: The Selection

Welcome to the book edition of Thirsty Thursday in which I talk about a book that I cannot wait to read or be published.  Thirsty Thursday is a part of my Daily Post; to learn more about it click here!

Image

 

“For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.” –Goodreads summary

While this book is extremely popular in the YA book community, I also have had many of my Tumblr followers and friends on Goodreads suggest this book.  In fact one individual compared this book to being a “fictionalized account of The Bachelor.”  As someone who loves trashy (obviously set-up) reality TV, I am very hopeful of my future approval and admiration of this book.  Seriously, this book is a combination of nearly everything I could want in a book: crummy reality TV, dystopian, romance, etc.!

Luckily, pay day was two weeks ago, and I immediately rushed to Barnes & Noble.  When I saw this book on the shelves, I freaked out and purchased the book.  Currently, it is looking beautiful on my shelf-I mean can we please take a second to admire that gorgeous cover?  I seriously LOVE books that have Vogue-inspired covers!  

I cannot wait to read this book.  Unfortunately, I have not heard to many great things about its sequel, but we’ll get through the first book and approach that mountain in the future.

*What book(s) are you excited to read or be published?  Comment below, and you may be featured in next week’s Thirsty Thursday post!*

6 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday: The Selection

  1. “Fictionalized account of The Bachelor” is actually a turn off for me, but like you I’ve seen so many positive reviews of this one that I am now inclined to read it this year. Hope we both like it!

  2. This book has been on my Goodreads To-Read list for the longest time, and I have to agree that the cover is just absolutely gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

