Worst Read Wednesday (6/19/13)

Welcome to Worst Read Wednesday in which I talk about books that I despised or did not fall for all its hype.  Worst Read Wednesday is part of my Daily Post; to learn more about it, click here!

Image

“It’s been two years since Conrad told Belly to go with Jeremiah. She and Jeremiah have been inseparable ever since, even attending the same college– only, their relationship hasn’t exactly been the happily ever after Belly had hoped it would be. And when Jeremiah makes the worst mistake a boy can make, Belly is forced to question what she thought was true love. Does she really have a future with Jeremiah? Has she ever gotten over Conrad? It’s time for Belly to decide, once and for all, who has her heart forever.” –Goodreads summary

The premise of this book seems very promising.  Plus, when I read it, I thought it sounded like a wonderful summer read, and to be honest, it is that.  However, this book is simply sub-par for me.  For myself I need to be in a certain mood to read and appreciate contemporary novels.  Like many people, novels are my temporary escapes from my boring monotonous life.  Therefore, contemporaries do not always provide an adequate escape.  Simply, I was not in the right mind to read this book.  

Overall, I was frustrated with the protagonist Belly and frequently got annoyed with her, and I did not like how the plot progressed, as I felt it was predictable in most parts.

Additionally, I had read the very last book in the trilogy first without reading the other books (I have no idea why…), and I think that affected my opinion.  While I know series can get frustrating as they seem to overpopulate the YA genre, I do enjoy how they, mostly, provide a thorough view of characters and their progression throughout the stories.  This also applies to the overall plot of the series.  Therefore, I think my “jumping the gun” with this book really made me hate the characters and become annoyed with the plot.

One of the great things about Worst Read Wednesdays is that it gives me the opportunity to reflect.  As I looked over this book, I became extremely disappointed in myself; I really want to like this series.  Like everyone, I make mistakes.  Thus, I plan on rereading the series from the actual beginning to its actual ending, and hopefully, my opinions will alter!

*What are some of your worst reads or books that you did not like as much as others?  Would you consider giving these or any other books a second chance?  Comment below, and you may be featured in next week’s Worst Read Wednesday*

Last week’s Worst Read Wednesday, Lipsyy said one of her worst reads was the first Sookie Stackhouse book.  Upon reading the first few pages, she was not a fan of the writing.  What a bummer because I looked forward to reading those books!  Oh well!  Every reader is different! 

2 thoughts on “Worst Read Wednesday (6/19/13)

    • I definitely don’t think I was in the right mood to read a contemporary novel when I read this and reading this from the end did not help either! I hope giving it another chance will help 🙂 it seems sweet!

Leave a Reply

