Thirsty Thursday-Book Edition!

Welcome to my Thirsty Thursday post in which I will be talking about a book that I cannot wait to read.  Thirsty Thursday is a part of my Daily Post; to find out more about the Daily Post and how I keep your life interesting as a book blogger, click here.

Fever by Lauren DeStefano

“Rhine and Gabriel have escaped the mansion, but danger is never far behind.

Running away brings Rhine and Gabriel right into a trap, in the form of a twisted carnival whose ringmistress keeps watch over a menagerie of girls. Just as Rhine uncovers what plans await her, her fortune turns again. With Gabriel at her side, Rhine travels through an environment as grim as the one she left a year ago – surroundings that mirror her own feelings of fear and hopelessness.

The two are determined to get to Manhattan, to relative safety with Rhine’s twin brother, Rowan. But the road there is long and perilous – and in a world where young women only live to age twenty and young men die at twenty-five, time is precious. Worse still, they can’t seem to elude Rhine’s father-in-law, Vaughn, who is determined to bring Rhine back to the mansion…by any means necessary.

In the sequel to Lauren DeStefano’s harrowing Wither, Rhine must decide if freedom is worth the price – now that she has more to lose than ever.” –Goodreads summary

Fever, by Lauren DeStefano, is the second book in the Chemical Garden Trilogy.  I read Wither, the first book in the trilogy, last summer, and I absolutely loved it.  To my dismay, many people disliked it.  Admittedly, it does deal with some controversial topics such as polygamy, underage sex, and teen pregnancies.  However, I thought Lauren DeStefano wrote about these issues in a tasteful manner, and I never felt uncomfortable.

Beyond the controversies, I thought the dystopian world was intriguing.  Inexplicably, women die when they are 20, and men die when they are 25.  So, girls are kidnapped and forced into polygamous marriages in order to produce children.  In turn their offspring will become the variables of multiple scientific tests in the hopes of finding a cure to these sudden deaths.

Enter Rhine.  Tough chick.  She is kidnapped from her brother and forced into a marriage.  While her husband is extremely wealthy and willing to give her anything, Rhine wants nothing more than to return to her brother.  In the mansion she meets Gabriel, who holds similar opinions of the injustices society has placed on both men and women.  Together, they desire freedom, but not everyone is willing to let Gabriel and Rhine’s “unethical opinions” spoil the potentials for a future cure.

Seriously?  How can that not get any better.  Honestly, I know the premise may sound a little cliche, but this book is definitely my favorite book I read last summer.  I could find no flaws in the topics, character development, or plot execution.  It was phenomenal.  Unfortunately, Wither ends on an extreme cliffhanger, and I am dying to know what happens!

When I saw Fever at Barnes and Noble, I nearly fainted.  Finally, my questions will be resolved.  I am looking forward to reading this book and plan to do so in the upcoming weeks.  If you have not checked out the Chemical Garden Trilogy, I highly recommend you do so!

**What book(s) can you not wait to read?  Leave a comment below, and you may be featured in my next Thirsty Thursday post!**

 

One thought on “Thirsty Thursday-Book Edition!

  1. I guess it’s just a lot darker and eye opening than most YA – most people wouldn’t want to read The Hand Maiden’s Tale either though. Glad you’re enjoying the trilogy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

